Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government

GAO-14-704G: Published: Sep 10, 2014. Publicly Released: Sep 10, 2014.


  • GAO Interactive Graphic
    The Green Book - Infographic

Additional Materials:


Green Book Technical Assistance
(202) 512-9535


Office of Public Affairs
(202) 512-4800

Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government (the “Green Book”), sets the standards for an effective internal control system for federal agencies and provides the overall framework for designing, implementing, and operating an effective internal control system.

An entity uses the Green Book to help achieve its objectives related to operations, reporting, and compliance.

C:\Documents and Settings\PugnettiC\Desktop\Fig_02_5_194915.TIF

The standards in the Green Book are organized by the five components of internal control shown in the cube below. Each of the five components contains several principles. Principles are the requirements of each component.

C:\Documents and Settings\PugnettiC\Desktop\Fig_05_5_194915.TIF

This publication will supersede GAO/AIMD-00-21 .3.1, Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government : November 1999.

GAO's 2014 revision will be effective beginning with fiscal year 2016 and the FMFIA reports covering that year. Management, at its discretion, may elect early adoption of the 2014 Green Book.

For more information, contact Green Book Technical Assistance at (202) 512-9535 or

Dec 4, 2018

Nov 16, 2018

Nov 15, 2018

Nov 5, 2018

Oct 25, 2018

Sep 28, 2018

Sep 20, 2018

Sep 17, 2018

Sep 12, 2018

Sep 5, 2018

Looking for more? Browse all our products here