Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) Governing Board

GAO is now accepting letters of nomination and resumes for PCORI Governing Board appointments that will be effective in September 2018. Nominations should be submitted by May 4, 2018 and sent to the email or mailing address listed below. If you do not receive an acknowledgement within one week of submission, contact Rashmi Agarwal at 202-512-4077. Include “PCORI Nominations” in the subject line of the email.

  • Mail:
  •  U.S. GAO
     Attn: PCORI Board Nominations
     441 G Street, N.W.
     Washington, DC 20548

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act [Section 6301 and Section 10602, Public Law 111-148] requires the Comptroller General of the United States to appoint 19 members to the Board of Governors of the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI). The Act also provides that the Directors of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality and the National Institutes of Health, or their designees, be members of the Board.

Members of the Board appointed by the Comptroller General serve six-year terms and may be reappointed for one subsequent six-year term.  The terms of the PCORI Board members first appointed were staggered, with the appointments made in September 2010 set at two, four, and six year terms. Board members must meet the qualifications listed in the Act. The Act also directs the Comptroller General to appoint not more than 15 members to a Methodology Committee of PCORI.

For more information, please visit the PCORI website, or contact Rashmi Agarwal of GAO’s Health Care team at 202-512-4077 or Chuck Young in GAO’s Office of Public Affairs at (202) 512-4800.

Notices of Current and Prior Appointments:

Current Membership of the Board

Appointments made September 2016

Designation of Vice Chair, December 5, 2014

Appointment made September 30, 2014

Appointment made February 2014

Designation of Chair and Vice Chair, September 2013

Appointments made September 2012

Appointments Announced November 12, 2010

Appointments Announced September 23, 2010