Health Information Technology (HIT) Policy Committee

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act required the Comptroller General of the United States to appoint 13 of 20 members to the HIT Policy Committee, a body which made recommendations on creating a policy framework for the development and adoption of a nationwide health information technology infrastructure, including standards for the exchange of patient medical information.

The Act required the Comptroller General to appoint these members across 10 different categories including: advocates for patients or consumers, representatives of health care providers, including 1 physician, labor organizations representing health care workers, expert in health information privacy and security, expert in improving the health of vulnerable populations, research community representative, representative of health plans or other third-party payers, representative of information technology vendors, representative of purchasers or employers, and expert in health care quality measurement and reporting. Appointment terms were for three years, generally beginning in April, and members could be reappointed for subsequent terms. An additional seven members were appointed to the committee by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, the Majority and Minority leaders of the Senate, and the Speaker and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives.

The 21st Century Cures Act replaced the HIT Policy Committee with the HIT Advisory Committee. See the HIT Advisory Committee page for more information. For more information, please contact Will Simerl of GAO's Health Care team at (404) 679-1888 or Chuck Young in GAO's Office of Public Affairs at (202) 512-4800.

Notices of Appointments: